WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
The MegaFM team is here. Please send any message or question

11 Cabinet Ministers Lose Positions as Museveni Names New Cabinet

Rececca Kadaga is the new 1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for East African Community Affairs.

At least 11 Cabinet ministers will not be part of President Yoweri Kaguta Tibuhabrwa Museveni’s cabinet for now in the 2021/2026 term unless there is a reshuffle.

According to the Cabinet list issued on Tuesday evening by the presidential press Unit, Museveni has named 32 cabinet ministers and 50 state ministers.

The list shows that Katakwi woman MP, Jessica Alupo, has replaced Edward Kiwanuka Ssekandi, who has been vice president for 10 years.

On the other hand, Kakumiro Woman MP, Robinah Nabbanja has replaced Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda who has held the portfolio of prime minister since 2014.

Nabbanja has been serving as the State Minister for Health. Also replaced, as the minister in charge of the presidency is Esther Mbayo.

Her role is now going to be played by Miriam Babalanda.

Maj. Gen Jim Muhwezi, the Rujumbura Member of Parliament has replaced Gen Ely Tumwine- who has been serving as Security Minister since 2018.

For the position of Minister for General Duties in the Prime Minister’s Office, the former NRM Secretary General, Justine Kasule Lumumba, has replaced Mary Karoro Okurut. For the position of Minister for Karamoja, Mary Goretti Kitutu, who has been serving as the Minister of Energy, has replaced John Byabagambi.

The Attorney General William Byaruhanga has also lost his position to the President’s personal lawyer, Kiryowa Kiwanuka.

On the other hand, Vincent Bamulangaki Ssempijja who has been the minister for Agriculture Animal Industry and Fisheries has replaced Adolf Mwesige as Minister of Defense.

The long-serving Minister of Foreign Affairs Sam Kutesa- will not be part of this cabinet as his roles have been taken over by Gen. Jeje Odongo who has been the Internal Affairs Minister.

Judith Nabakooba, the former minister in charge of ICT and the National Guidance will play the role of minister of Lands Housing and Urban Development replacing Beti Olive Kamya who has been named senior presidential advisor on Land.

Also sacked is the Minister of Trade Industry and Cooperatives Amelia Kyambadde whose position has gone to Francis Mwebesa.   

Meanwhile former speaker of parliament Rececca Kadaga is the new 1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for East African Community Affairs.

  • Jessica Alupo
  • Kakumiro Woman MP
  • Katakwi woman MP
  • minister
  • New cabinet

Leave a Reply

scroll to top