WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
The MegaFM team is here. Please send any message or question

MP Akol replaces Okin as APG Chairperson

Anthony Akol-the Kilak North County MP.

Anthony Akol, the Kilak North County Member of Parliament in Amuru District has been elected as the new Chairperson Acholi Parliamentary Group (APG).

He replaces Phillip Poly Okin, the Chua East County Member of Parliament in Kitgum District.

Other two candidates, Hillary Onek (Lamwo County) and Okin voluntarily stepped down.

Akol of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), polled 11 votes to beat Catherine Lamwaka (National Resistance Movement), the Omoro District Woman MP who polled 10 votes during the elections held today at Parliament.

Meanwhile Ricky Anywar of Agago County in Agago District went unopposed as the Vice-Chairperson of APG.

Gilbert Olanya, the Kilak South MP was replaced by John Amos Okot of Agago East County as Secretary-General.

Others elected were Judith Peace Acan as Treasurer, Simon Wokorach (Deputy Secretary-General), and Sharon Laker Balmoi as Secretary Legal Affairs.

Only 15 MPs out of 26 MPs from the region attended the meeting.

  • Acholi parliamentary group
  • Anthony Akol
  • Election
  • Okin PP
  • Replace

Leave a Reply

scroll to top