The news is by your side.

Minister Okello Oryem Losses NRM Primaries


The incumbent Chua East legislator Henry Okello Oryem yesterday lost in the hotly contested NRM primaries to Godfrey Luwo.

Okello Oryem, the Foreign Affairs Minister, lost with 9,036 votes against Luwo who garnered 14,906 votes.

Minister Okello Oryem

Musician William Otim popularly known as Bosmic also won in Chua West County with 13,796 votes against Ocaya Charles who got only 2,036 votes.

For the Kitgum woman MP seat, Lilian Aber beat the incumbent woman MP Margret Mwaka Odwar by 28,508 to 1404 votes.

Beatrice Anywar, the state Minister for Environment won the Kitgum Municipality primaries with 2861 votes, beating Oryem Kisinga who got only 2068 votes.

Beatrice Anywar

Wokorac Simon Peter also won the Aswa county NRM primaries with 3600 votes beating Kinyera Christopher and Komakech Patrick to second and third positions respectively.

Nancy Atimango and Roy Olal won the NRM party primaries in East and West Divisions of Gulu City respectively.

Incumbent Omoro woman MP Catherine Lamwaka also won the NRM primaries for the Omoro District woman MP seat.

She won with 17,429 votes beating Betty Grace Akech Okullu in the second position after she garnered only 3,890 votes.

In Tochi County Francis Obutu won the race with 4,269 votes beating Constantine Opiro and Laker Evelyn Otim who got 1,467 and 1,320 votes respectively.

The incumbent Nwoya woman MP Adong Lilly lost the NRM primaries to Achan Judith Peace Judith with 5,067 and 6,891 respectively.

Omony Oscar, the youth MP for northern Uganda also lost the NRM primaries to Tony Awany after he only gathered 2,086 votes against 3,406 votes.

The former Pabbo Sub County LC3 chairperson Christopher Ojera is the NRM flag bearer for the Kilak North Constituency. Ojera won with 3,093 votes, beating three other contestants that include Christopher Odongkara, the Pabbo Sub County LC3 chairperson, Silvester Opira Tic, former RDC and Atube Anthony Louis Omach, the former Amuru District LCV chairperson.

Meanwhile in Kilak South Constituency, Wilson William Nokrach, the MP for persons with disabilities (PWDs) won the election with 4,440 votes, beating three other contestants.

For the Amuru District woman MP NRM flag bearer, Angeyo Lucy Kijange took it with 5,243 votes beating Nyero Ketty Grace and Akidi Winifred Ocaya.

In Dokolo North constituency, the incumbent MP Paul Amoru Omiat lost to Moses Ogwal Goli who got 12,607 votes against 11,113 votes. However the incumbent MP for Dokolo South Felix Okot Ogong beat his rival Daniel Okello.

Meanwhile, Kwania North Constituency was taken by James Ongu Tar, Kwania Consistency was taken by Tonny Ayo, the incumbent Mp, Maruzi Constituency was won by Moses Opeto, Charles Okello Engola and Patrick Obong won that of Oyam North County and Oyam South Constituency respectively.    

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You cannot copy content of this page