WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
The MegaFM team is here. Please send any message or question

Five Amuru EC Officials Arrested over Election Malpractice

Jimmy Patrick Okema, the Aswa River Region Police spokesperson

Five polling officials are being held by police in Amuru district over four boxes of pre-ticked ballot papers for Member of Parliament.

The suspects are Winnie Anena, Geoffrey Ojuk, Richard Rubangakene, Patrick Opiro and Alex Odur.

They were arrested on Thursday after police recovered the pre-ticked ballot papers from Ogole polling station in Amuru Town Council

Jimmy Patrick Okema, the Aswa River Region Police spokesperson said 130 of the pre-ticked ballots were for Olanya Gilbert (Kilak South Mp), 47 for William Wilson Nokrach of NRM, 10 for Anena Kevin Okumu-an independent, 2 for Solomon Ocira, 105 for Lucy Akello and 81 for Angeyo Lucy Kijange.

Okema said that police have registered a case of election mal-practice under SD reference 30/20/01/2021 adding that police are yet to summon the Amuru district Registrar to record a statement.

Okema said so far they are yet to obtain patent prints for comparison with details at NIRA and handwriting specimen for the suspects.

scroll to top