The news is by your side.

EC announces the time table for Omoro District elections


The elections in Omoro district kicked off yesterday with updating of the voters’ register, an exercise that will end on 21st of July.
The updated voters’ Registrar will be displayed at all the polling Stations from 26th July to 15th August 2016 to allow correction of any errors.
For the purposes of natural justice all recommendations for deletion from the Voters’ Register will be displayed at Parish level for ten days from the 16th to 25th August 2016.
Nominations of candidates will then be done at the District Headquarters on the 28th and 29 July 2016 and campaigns commence on1st of August and end on the 25th August 2016.
Voting for Special Interest Groups will take place on 26th August while for District Chairperson and Woman MP will take place on the 29th August 2016.
The Chairman of Electoral Commission, Badru Kigundu asked all stakeholders to stick to the timetable adding that any aspiring candidates will be liable for any case of indiscipline from their voters.
Meanwhile, the Electoral Commission has appointed former Assistant Returning Officer Gulu, Dennis Obong as Omoro District Retuning Officer whose temporal office will be situated at Koro sub county headquarters.
Acting Chairperson Electoral Commission, Joseph Biribonwa urged for positive support from stakeholders for successful elections.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You cannot copy content of this page