WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
The MegaFM team is here. Please send any message or question

MP Oulanyah Elected Speaker of 11th Parliament

Jacob Oulanya-the late Speaker of Parliament

The Omoro County MP Jacob Oulanyah has been elected Speaker of the Eleventh Parliament.

Oulanya, the former deputy speaker of parliament, garnered 310 votes against his former boss Kamuli Woman MP, Rebecca Kadaga who got 197 votes.

The results were declared by Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo who presided over the election process at the Kololo Independence Grounds.

The two are from the ruling National Resistance Movement -NRM party.

Oulanyah was on Sunday declared as the ruling NRM party flag bearer in the Speaker race by the party top organ- the Central Executive Committee (CEC) sitting at State House Entebbe. This position by CEC was further endorsed by the NRM Parliamentary caucus.

However, Kadaga decided to run as an independent candidate after being denied the party the flag.

The other candidate was the Kira Municipality MP, Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda from the Forum of the Democratic Change -FDC party who got 15 votes.

The event was also attended by President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni and a section of officials from the ruling National Resistance Movement-NRM party Secretariat.

Article 82 of the Constitution provides that the Speaker and Deputy Speaker shall be elected by Members of Parliament from their number and a person shall not be qualified to be elected Speaker or Deputy Speaker if he or she is a Vice President or a Minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

scroll to top