WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
The MegaFM team is here. Please send any message or question

Acholi Sub Region Gets Nine New Seed Secondary Schools

President Yoweri Museveni

At least nine Seed Secondary schools are to be constructed by government in Acholi Sub region in the financial year 2021/2022.

Government has approved a $150 million (approximately 554 billion shillings) loan for a project dubbed Uganda Secondary Education Expansion Project- USEEP which will enable construction of 116 new lower secondary day-schools.

The schools are to be constructed in Got Apwoyo Sub County in Nwoya district, Amuru town council in Amuru district, Latanya Sub County in Pader district, Labongo Layamo and Omiya Pacwa in Kitgum district. Others are in Padebi East Sub County in Lamwo district and Kotomor, Lamiyo and Wol sub counties in Agago district.

Government has also allocated funds to renovate Sir Samuel baker secondary school in Gulu City.

Rosemary Nansubuga Seninde, the state Minister for primary education says all these secondary schools will have fully furnished laboratories, libraries and staff quarters.

According to the 2016 National Resistance Movement – NRM manifesto, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni pledged to construct a government secondary school in each sub-county. Statistics from the Education Ministry indicate that 615 sub-counties in Uganda have no government secondary schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top