MP Kasiano Wadri, 36 Others Committed To High Court For Trial


Kasiano Wadri, the Member of Parliament (MP) for Arua Municipality and 36 other treason suspects including four MPs were this morning committed to High Court for trial.

The suspects were sent to face High Court by Isaac Imran Kintu, the Gulu Grade One Magistrate for their alleged role in stoning President Museveni’s convoy in August 2018, during the chaotic Arua Municipality by-election which saw Wadri announced winner beating, Nasuru Tiperu, the NRM party candidate.

The other law makers facing treason charges are; Robert Kyagulanyi, the Makindye East MP, Paul Mwiru for Jinja East, Gerald Karuhanga (Ntungamo Municipality) and the latest to be added to the charge sheet is Francis Mutebi Zaake, the MP for Mityaana Municipality.

Prosecution alleged that on August 13, 2018, in Arua town, Wadri and 36 others attacked President Museveni’s motorcade breaking the windshield of one of the vehicles in the convoy.

Patrick Omia, the Senior State Prosecutor informed court that treason suspect whom some including the MPS were in court are also facing other charges among others; acting with intent to alarm, annoy or ridicule the president.

The offence contravenes section 24C of the panel code act.


About Author


Comments are closed.